2800 Miles Later

Truthfully my trip across the country didn’t have to be as long as I made it.  It could have been more like 2400 miles if I had taken a more direct route, but I knew this might be one of my only chances (at least for a long time) to be able to do a cross-country road trip, so I took advantage of that opportunity.  Originally I thought about doing a big write-up about the trip, but not only do I feel less than excited to do it now, I feel like if I wait to get excited about documenting the trip, I’ll actually just never get even remotely excited and people will never know about the trip at all.  Instead, here are some fun, quick facts about the trip:

Days: 5
Miles: 2786
Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups Eaten: 24
Rockstar Guavas Consumed: 18
Longest Period of (solo) Constant Driving: 19 hours
Shooting Stars Seen: 14
Bald Eagles: 5
“White Tail Heart Attacks:” 2
Laptops Broken Because of White Tail Heart Attacks: 1
Off-Road Driving Lights Installed to Better See Deer Coming: 2
Wiper Blades Installed: 2
Oil Changes: 3 in 5 days, a new personal record.  One before I left, one on the road, and one when I got here.  You really can’t do 3,000 miles when you are beating up your car on mountains.
Coldest Temperature: -14, West Glacier, MT
Most Over Played Song on the Radio: Owl City- Fireflies
-7 times in one hour
Smallest Town: Emblem, MT- Population 10
Longest Period of Time Without Seeing Another Vehicle: 2 Hours 45 Minutes
Best Weather: Washington
Worst Weather: Michigan
Best Roads: South Dakota
Worst Roads: Michigan
Best Scenery:  Three way tie- Ennis, MT; Big Horn National Forest and Glacier National Park.
Ways of Describing “Watch Out For Boulders Falling Off of Mountains Onto Your Car:” 4- ‘Falling Rock Zone,’ ‘Watch for Falling Rock,’ A Picture of a Boulder Crushing a Car and simply the word ‘ROCKS.’

Overall the trip was awesome.  Weather was great once I got out of the “Lake Effect Zone.”  Worst thing I had to deal with after that was some ice in South Dakota and really dense fog in Montana and Idaho.  Almost no snow anywhere.  South Dakota, Wyoming and Montana all have 75 mph speed limits, which is great for making time.  I would give 2 of the hotels I stayed at a 10/10.  They both were immaculate and really cheap considering that they both had king beds, fridges, microwaves, etc.

I thank everyone that had me in their prayers and thoughts as I was driving, it really was a very easy drive and since I don’t mind driving at all it was very enjoyable.  It actually seems a little weird to not be driving all day.

I got to see everything I wanted to see.  Only got lost/turned around twice and both times were for under 15 minutes.

A great trip all things considered and Vancouver, WA has been great ever since I have arrived.  I am really looking forward to finishing the build out on the new cafe and opening on New Year’s Day.

-bry

5 Responses to “2800 Miles Later”

  1. glad everything went and is going well, im sorry i didnt get a chance to see ya before you leave but when you come home let me know. i owe you bud. have a merry x mas and happy new year man, good luck

  2. Patricia Wray Says:

    Thanks for the great update. Lots of Reeses’ pnut butter cups I see! I am SO glad you got to see everything you wanted to see. I loved reading your blog!!! I’ll be looking forward to more!! I remember all the “falling rock” signs in Tennessee and Kentucky too. Remember when we had to pull over and sit for about an hour in the blazing heat because they were dynamiting (is that a word?) a mountain next to the road?

  3. The fun facts I was looking for
    # of bathroom breaks
    # time you got one of those “Oh, city queers” looks from dude @ gas station
    Jerky consumed
    # hitch hikers

    Take care and merry Xmas!

    • Bathroom breaks… eh… didn’t keep track. Every time I filled up though, so I’ll guess like 13-14.

      I actually didn’t get any “Oh city queers.” We (sister and I) did go into a gas station early one morning, though and there were five older guys sitting in there on little chairs. They were all in Carhartt coats with camo hats. They all had little print outs with them of jokes that they had found the night before and they read them to each other. It was the hilarious.

      No jerky. I did consume one “Ham and Cheese” pre-packed thing out of a vending machine, though.

      No hitchhikers. Didn’t actually even see any.

      Merry Christmas to you as well!

      -bry

  4. That’s pretty cool. Sounds like an awesome road trip. I just did a road trip from Iowa to Washington and drove all the way down to San Diego. From there went to Las Vegas, Colorado Springs, and back to Iowa. My 2 week trip ended up as a 1 month long road trip visiting many coffee shops, family, and friends. I hit hit up A LOT of bad shops, but the great ones I went to in Seattle and Portland was totally worth it. I loved the drive from South Dakota to Washington and the drive t Northern Cali. I totally would do another road trip but probably do the east coast.

Leave a comment