Final Burundi Stats

Tasted the Burundi offerings for what I believe will be the last time, simply because we have a whole bunch of new offerings that we roasted yesterday that I need to get into, rather than continuing on with coffee that we may or may not carry.

The best summary I can come up with for these Burundi coffees is that they carry the typical profile of an African coffee, but are much cleaner and less dynamic.  It isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  I know I don’t always want over-the-top crazy fruit flavors, but I don’t always want the floral and citrus attributes of a Central American coffee.  These Burundi samples filled that void for me.  Both coffees were very similiar.  I’m not sure I would have picked out much difference at all if I hadn’t known up front that they were different lots.

Coffee drying on "raised beds" in Kayanza, Burundi. (Click for enlarged image)

Final stats for Burundi Kayanza Yandaro Bourbon:
4/12
Aroma: 7.0
Flavor: 7.0
Acidity: 6.9
Body: 7.0
Finish: 7.0
Total 84.9
4/13 (Lighter)
Aroma: 7.0
Flavor: 6.8
Acidity: 6.9
Body: 7.1
Finish: 6.8
Total: 84.7
4/13 (Darker)
Aroma: 6.8
Flavor: 6.9
Acidity: 6.7
Body: 7.3
Finish: 6.9
Total: 84.6

Final Stats for Burundi Kirimiro Mwurire Bourbon:
4/12
Aroma: 7.1
Flavor: 6.9
Acidity: 7
Body: 7.1
Finish: 7.0
Total: 85.1
4/13 (Lighter)
Aroma: 7.1
Flavor: 6.9
Acidity: 7.2
Body: 7.0
Finish: 6.7
Total: 84.9
4/13 (Darker)
Aroma: 6.9
Flavor: 6.9
Acidity: 6.8
Body: 7.2
Finish: 7.0
Total: 84.8

So like I said, nothing over the top outrageous, but some really nice, balanced and overall clean coffees.  We call these coffees “coffee coffees.”

Today I’ll be tasting some of the new Panama offerings that came in and I’ll be reporting on them later in the week.

-bry

One Response to “Final Burundi Stats”

  1. Pat Wray Says:

    I like these new blogs on coffee tasting (and occasionally cocoa)!! It lets me peak into your world a little every day or so when you write them. Miss you!!!

Leave a Reply

